Rachael A. Eubanks, Director

Commissioner, Michigan Public Service Commission

Rachael A. Eubanks was appointed by Governor Rick Snyder to the Michigan Public Service Commission, for a term beginning August 1, 2016. The Governor appointed her to a new term on March 17, 2017, which ends July 2, 2023.

She is a member of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) and serves on the Energy Resources and the Environment Committee, which serves as a venue for State regulators to discuss ways to provide utility customers with environmentally sustainable and affordable energy services, particularly focusing on energy efficiency, environmental protection, renewable and distributed resources, consumers protection, low income weatherization and assistance, and public interest research and development. In 2018, she was appointed as Chair to NARUC’s Subcommittee on Supplier and Workforce Diversity, which is focused on promoting opportunities for women, minority and service-disabled veteran-owned businesses in utility supply markets. She was also appointed to the Subcommittee on Education and Research, and holds a position on the NARUC Board of Directors.

Commissioner Eubanks represents Michigan on the board of the Organization of PJM States. She was elected to the Executive Committee as Secretary on October 5, 2017 for a one-year term. She also serves on its Personnel Committee.

Prior to her appointment, Commissioner Eubanks worked in public finance for 13 years, most recently as a director at Robert W. Baird & Co. Inc. During her 10-year tenure at Baird, she completed over $22 billion in bond financings, primarily for the State of Michigan, Michigan State Building Authority, Michigan Finance Authority and other state agencies. She served as financial advisor on a $185 million issuance for the Public Lighting Authority of Detroit that financed a complete overhaul of the city’s street lighting system amidst its bankruptcy proceedings.

She holds a bachelor’s degree in economics from the University of Michigan.